Skip to content

RtK: Don’t worry too much

August 27, 2010

I’ve learned after experimenting with Anki and the RevTK site that you shouldn’t worry too much about RtK.

What I mean by that, is that if you fail, its okay!

Did you…
1) Fail a newly studied card?
2) Fail a card twice in a row?
3) Consistently fail a card?

Don’t worry about it. Try changing the story you have, if you like. However, I’ve figured out that SRS is not about the story, it’s about the repetition.

Ones that gave me trouble on the first, second, even third or fourth run through became natural after failing them because I’ve just seen them so much. I felt reluctant to ‘pass’ cards that took me a few seconds to look at, or that I had to reveal the story for to write, but now I realize I shouldn’t fail those because I succeeded in writing them from memory.

Don’t be too hard on yourself. Just be truthful. With the story and your memory, could you write it? If yes, push ‘good’. If yes, but it took you a few seconds or you had to use the hint button to reveal your story, push “hard” . If no, just fail it and move on. Don’t even worry.

From → 日本語

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

